Breaking FMS - Fat Mind Syndrome

Wow! I’ve been on this journey 11 months now! I can’t believe how far I’ve come. In fact, sometimes I forget. In my head, I know; I’m half way to goal weight, I feel great, I’m in much smaller sizes and my lifestyle is so different. But then there are moments I still see myself as the girl from 11 months ago. That really not much has changed. It’s like I can’t get my mind and emotions to agree. I suffer from FMS, Fat Mind Syndrome.
The struggle is real some days. And I’m not really sure how to change that except to keep going. To stay consistent. To renew my mind daily. And lean on God’s amazing grace and His image of me. The Bible says, "His mercies are new every morning." I’m so very thankful for that.
Another thing that helps me remember how far I’ve come are before and after pictures. It’s proof that what I’m doing is working. A picture says a thousand words. And sometimes I need those thousand words to hit me right in the face. To tell my FMS to shut up! So no matter where you are on your journey, journal it with pictures. They will help you on those dark days when you need proof.
The bottom line is that life change is really hard. When you lived one way your entire life it’s hard to remember the new person you have become. No matter what change you are making; health, addiction, a new life in Christ, etc.. Lean on the arms of our heavenly Father. Remember what he says about you. That you are wonderfully and beautifully made. That you are never alone. That you are deeply loved. Not because of what we have done, but what He has. Keep working towards your goals and rely on God’s strength. He won’t let you go! He’s the one that is breaking the Fat Mind Syndrome in me. And He’ll do it for you too!
Just keep shrinking and shining for Him.