I Will Get There

Do you remember the movie Prince of Egypt? I love that movie but I think I love the soundtrack even more! The song “I Will Get There" from Boys II Men (not featured in the movie but plays in the credits) is my favorite song on the album. It’s motivational and makes me cry almost every time. And who doesn't love the sweet harmonies of the original boy band? It speaks of; struggles and pain, Being lost and in chains, How faith in our great God is what helps us reach the goals and destinations we so desperately want, To keep going, To keep believing and eventually we will get there.
I can’t tell you how many times on my journey that I have struggled. Sometimes I allow the pain of my insecurities to overwhelm me. Sometimes I can’t see the transformation that has and is happening. Sometimes I really can understand how Moses felt leading the children of Isreal to the promised land…for 40 YEARS!!! What?!? I guess if Moses has to wander in the desert for 40 years I can be patient and keep going too! And the thing is, Moses was NEVER alone. I’m never alone and neither are you! With His help I will get there. I will reach my goal weight. It’s gonna take a lot of work, but I will get there. Sometimes when I need some motivation, I turn on this song. And when the choir joins in, Ooo… you just have to listen! I hope it motivates you like it does me!


Boys II Men
I've been wanderin' 'round in the dark
Been lost somewhere where no light could shine on my heart
I have known a pain so deep
But I know my faith will free me
[Get there] And I'll get through this
[Get there] I'll find my way again
So don't tell me that it's over
'Cause each step just gets me closer

[chorus]
(I will get there) I will get there
(I will get there) I will get there somehow
Cross that river (Cross that river)
Nothing's stoppin' me now
I will get through the night (Oh, yes, I will)
And make it through to the other side
(Get there) Get there
(Get there) Get there

I've been in these chains for so long
I'll break free and I'll be there where I belong
Hold my head up high, I'll stand tall
And I swear this time I won't fall
[Get there] I will do this
[Get there] No matter what it takes
'Cause I know no limitations
And I'll reach my destination, I will get there

[chorus]
I will get there (I will get there)
I will get there (Ooh) somehow (Somehow)
Cross that river (Cross that river)
Nothing's stoppin' me now
I will get through the night
And make it through to the other side
(Ooh, get there) Get there
(Get there) Get there

Well, the night is cold and dark
But somewhere the sun is shining
And I'll feel it shine on me
I'll keep tryin', I'll keep tryin'

I will get there (I will get there)
I will get there somehow
Cross that river (Cross that river)
Nothing's stoppin' me now
I will get through the night
And make it through to the other side
Get there, get there

(Get there) Get there
(Ooh, get there) Get there (Whoaoh)
I will get there (I will get there)
I will get there somehow (Somehow)
Cross that river (I'll cross it for your love)
Nothing's stoppin' me now (No matter what)
I will get through the night (I will get through the night)
And make it through to the other side

(Get there) Get there
(Ooh, get there) Get there
Get there
Ohhooh
I'll get there